Android ReviewsHands On

Hands-On : Tecno Boom J7 Review

 



In my first impressions with Tecno Boom J7 , I was swept away by the beauty of this device. After spending one week with it , I became convinced that this is one of the best entry level Smartphones in Nigeria. Here’s why you should get this smartphone.

The Design

The 5inch display on Tecno J7 is backed by a premium looking irresistible design. It has slim bezels and feels weightless on hand.

Boom.J7

J7 Side View

Also , It has a sightly curved back cover with sharp edges. I noticed that Tecno removed its branding(name) from the top of the device and placed it on the back cover , giving it a cleaner look. It is expected to compete with Infinix Hot 4

RECOMMENDED READ:   Review: OPPO Reno2 vs OPPO Reno2 F: Is It worth the Extra Bucks?

J7 Back View

The Red Ring

Hands-On , the red ring is the first thing that caught my attention. The red ring serves as a home button , but it performs much more that that. Holding it down for few seconds triggers a mini notifications panel where you can play music and access your settings.

Pressing down the red ring for few seconds triggers this
Pressing down the red ring for few seconds triggers this

The red ring also serves as an LED light that blinks whenever you have a notification.

The User Interface(UI)

Tecno J7 runs Android 4.4.2Kitkat and has a sleek User Interface, different from what we see on other Tecno phones.

Screenshot_2015-06-09-08-45-09

Screenshot_2015-06-09-08-45-14

The icons are very flat and the default launcher gives you more control over apps. You can easily uninstall and even share apps directly from your home widget.

RECOMMENDED READ:   Review: OPPO Reno3 and OPPO Reno3 Pro - 44MP Selfie Camera and Awesome Performance

Screenshot_2015-06-09-10-42-07

Screenshot_2015-06-09-08-23-24

The Camera

The 8MP back camera on Tecno J7 shoots decent pictures. I was very very impressed with the picture quality. Here are some outdoor shots I took with the back camera :

j7 Camera Test 2

J7 Camera Test

I took another shot with the back camera. This time , In a completely dark room :

J7 Dark Light

The 2MP front camera is good for Selfies , although it performs better in a well lightened room.

J7 Selfie

The Battery

Tecno J7 has 2020mAh battery that takes about 1hr50mins to fully charge , and can last up to 5hours of heavy useage. If you’re not a heavy user , you can get up to 9hours from the battery.

Music / Audio Quality

Tecno Boom J7 is a Music Centric phone made specially for people who love music. The audio quality is AMAZING , the best you will see in any mid-range smartphone.

RECOMMENDED READ:   OPPO A9 2020 Hands-on Review: Where Beauty & Performance Marry

Tecno j7 comes pre-installed with Boom Player , a new music streaming app from Tecno. Boom Player gives users access to a music store where they can stream music online.

Hardware Performance

The hardware performance is very good. Apps ran smoothly and the 1GB RAM was able to ensure efficient multitasking. I like the fact that it dosen’t heat up due to heavy useage.

Overall Remarks

I heard this phone costs just #24,000. In all honesty , this phone is worth more than that. Its a great music phone with superb user experience.

Show More

Ikechukwu MaxkDAVE

Ikechukwu Onu is a technical writer, product designer, front-end dev, and digital junkie with a profound interest in all things tech, especially Android. When he isn’t designing or writing killer content, reviewing gadgets or products, you’ll find him answering tech support questions from friends and family, going out for outreach, hang out with friends, or eating my snacks while watching Netflix. #Maxkdave #InfoKid EMAIL: info@androidnigeria.com.ng

6 Comments

  1. You have a nice review here. Tecno boom J7 is a smartphone with awesome audio output. Tecno has stepped up. Very good phobe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button
Close
Close

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker